LBJ’s Words of Regret

pictures 076coolwater1

 

Lyndon B. Johnson is quoting as saying the following to historian Doris Kearns Goodwin (in current issue of Newsweek Magazine): 

I knew from the start if I left the woman I really loved – the Great Society – in order to fight this bitch of a war (Vietnam) on the other side of the world, then I would lose everything at home.  All my programs.  All my hopes…All my dreams.”

 

I think this is the saddest, most heartbreaking statement.  The regret in those words is palpable and powerful.  I actually cried when I read these words.

I’m trying to think of a way to visually represent the power and loss behind these words.

Leave a Reply

